2017 Year End Awards

The Catawba Valley Camera Club has announced the winners of its year end competitions for 2017. 

The Print of the Year 2017
2nd Place - A Group - Randy Knauf - Duesenberg Boattail
Randy Knauf – “Duesenberg Boat Tail”
The Accomplished Division print winners for 2017 were:
A_Lane_Ed_Beach_4_At_Sunrise (1 of 1)
First Place – Ed Lane – “Beach 4 Sunrise Walk”
Second Place – Ed Lane – “Lake Edith, Jasper, Canada”
3rd Place TIE - A_Group_Judy_Young_Old_Man_&_the_Sea
Third Place – Judy Young – “Old Man and the Sea”
A_Bolton_Stan_Cappelia Pas De Deux
Honorable Mention – Stan Bolton – “Capelia Pas de Deux”
The Intermediate Division print winners for 2017 were:
1st Place - B_Martin_Cindy_Cuban Lady (1 of 1)
First Place – Cindy Martin – “Cuban Lady”
1st Place -B_Pascone_John_Epcot
Second Place – John Pascone – “Epcot”
Third Place – Dean Powell – “Cascade in the Woods”
2nd Place - B Group - Dean Powell - Super Moon
Honorable Mention – Dean Powell – “Super Moon”
Projection Image of the Year 2017
1st - Andy Fay - Outerbanks Currituck
Andy Fay – “Outerbanks Currituck Staircase”
The Accomplished Division projection image winners for 2017
3rd Place, Ed Lane Bow Lake
First Place – Ed Lane – “Bow Lake”
1st - John Hildebrand - Charging Herd
Second Place – John Hildebrand – “Charging Herd”
2nd - A_Hildebrand_John_Dancers_Shadowplay
Third Place – John Hildebrand – “Dancer’s Shadow Play”
3rd Place - A Group- Doreen Sugierski - Bottles and Balls and Mirrors
Honorable Mention – Doreen Sugierski – “Bottles and Balls and Mirrors”
The Intermediate Division projection image winners for 2017
2nd - Ravi Patel - Shady Dealings
First Place – Ravi Patel – “Shady Dealings”
3rd Place Tie, Cindy Martin Handmade in Belgrade
Second Place – Cindy Martin –  “Handmade in Belgrade”
2nd Place - Ravi Patel - Cactus Designs
Third Place – Ravi Patel – “Cactus Design”
1st - B_Patel_Ravi_Sunset Midst Lights
Honorable Mention – Ravi Patel – “Sunset Midst Lights”
The Frank J Miller Artistic Image of the year goes to Mitzi Gellman for “Dali-Mingos”
Miller Winner
Every year a photographer in each division who has not only placed in competitions throughout the year but has also consistently participated in meetings, field trips, and other club functions is awarded as the photographer of the year for that division.
The Photographers of the Year are:
Accomplished Division – Doreen Sugierski
Intermediate Division – Cindy Martin
The Catawba Valley Camera Club meets on the first and third Wednesdays of every month, at 7:00 pm in the North Annex of the Arts Center in Hickory.  Meetings consist of competition among members as well as instructional lectures. Field trips are planned throughout the year to enable members to share and demonstrate techniques as well as spend time enjoying photography together.  The next meeting will be January 3, 2018. The program will be a discussion on gear and gadgets and other tips and tricks.  The public is invited to attend, membership is not required.  If you want to become a better photographer and make new friends while doing so, come join us. Further information can be obtained from the club’s web site at http://cvcameraclub.org or by calling John Setzler at 828-404-2066.

Post Navigation